

Faculty Commission Board Report - June 28, 2017

Commission Chair: Charlene Latimer, Daytona State College

Exemplary Practice - Professor of the Year

The Faculty Commission Professor of the Year process began in January with nomination packets distributed to all 28 State Colleges. The Vice-Chair and the Region Reps received and reviewed nine nomination packets. Five semi-finalists were selected and presented at The Spring Conference on Thursday, May 18th at Pasco-Hernando State College (Porter Campus at Wiregrass Ranch).

The five semi-finalists were:

Professor	Discipline/Department	College
Amber Karlins	English/Communications	Lake-Sumter State College
Matthew Peace	Mathematics	Florida Gateway College
Jean Scheppers	Spanish	College of Central Florida
Caisson Vickery	Business & Computer Sci.	Northwest Fl. State College
Eugenio Zaldivar	Humanities & Foreign Lang.	Santa Fe College

All five demonstrated excellent teaching strategies. The three finalists for the 2017 Professor of the Year Award are:

- A) Jean Scheppers College of Central Florida
- B) Amber Karlins Lake Sumter State College
- C) Eugenio Zaldivar Santa Fe College

Presentations will take place at the Annual Meeting and Conference in Innis brook, Palm Harbor, November 1 – 3, 2017. The winner will be announced at the Annual Awards Gala on Thursday night.

FC Awards

Nominations are still open until September 29, 2017 for the **Vivian Dillinger Outstanding Faculty Member** award. Nominated Faculty must be full-time, tenured faculty who have been active in various levels (chapter and commission) of AFC. Contact Charlene Latimer for more information.

Spring Conference

Faculty Commission partnered with Student Development, Technology and Equity Commissions for the 2017 Spring Conference at Pasco-Hernando State College May 16 – 18, 2017. Along with the Exemplary Practice Presentations, Faculty Commission conducted two educational sessions.

- 1. Student Engagement: Practical Strategies for Retaining Students.
- 2. Stress Not All That You Thought It Was!

Spring FC Board Meeting (via telephone on April 25, 2017)

Board discussed upcoming Spring Conference attendance of board members, Exemplary Practice Presentations, Fundraising ideas, and FC educational sessions.

Established a 2017 By-Laws Committee: Cynthia Nash, Florence Bennett, and Patrick McDermott.

FC Activities

Faculty Commission partnered with Daytona State College Chapter to sponsor an Ice Cream Break and Membership Drive at the DSC Academic Excellence Symposium on Friday, March 3, 2017.

Respectfully submitted by Charlene Latimer